Hofstra Teams Win Top Awards in Nassau Academy Moot Court XXVIII

Stock photo of an award trophy featuring a star

Hofstra law student teams swept all of the top awards at the 2011 Nassau Academy of Law Hon. Elaine Jackson Stack Moot Court XXVIII Competition held Wednesday, March 24.  Distinguished judges ruled that the Hofstra team of 2Ls Nicole Bayer, Hanieh Hoshiari and Rachel Vincent won first place over a previously undefeated Touro Law Center team.  Rachel Vincent also won the Best Oralist Award in the competition.  Additionally, Hofstra law student team of 2Ls Sheila Ballato, George DellaRata and Toby Latham won the Eugene S.R. Pagano Esq. Award for best written brief.

(Photo by Hector Herrera)mootcourt

From left: NCBA President Marc Gann, Collins McDonald & Gann, Mineola; Hon. Ruth C. Balkin, Justice, Appellate Division, Second Department; A. Kathleen Tomlinson, Magistrate Judge; Hofstra law students Hanieh Hoshiari of Basking Ridge, New Jersey; Rachael Vincent of Jamaica, NY; Nicole Bayer of Selden, NY; Hon. Andrew Engle, Judge, District Court, Nassau and Dean of the Nassau Academy of Law; and Hon. Elaine Jackson Stack, NYS Supreme Court (ret).


About the author


To submit a news story, or request an interview with one of Hofstra Law's faculty experts, please contact Andrew Berman, assistant dean for communications, at

Latest Tweets

  • Watch Prof. @jamesjsample discuss articles of impeachment and the latest on the impeachment process with…
    about 13 hours ago
  • Prof. Fred Klein Presents to Nassau County District and County Court Judges on New Criminal Discovery Law in New Yo…
    about 1 day ago
  • Prof. Andrew Schepard Presents on Forensic Parenting Evaluations at 10th Judicial District 3rd Annual Matrimonial C…
    about 1 day ago
  • Prof. Norman Silber Presents on the ‘Revolt Against the Regulation of Philanthropy’ at 2019 ARNOVA Annual Conference
    about 1 day ago
  • Article by Prof. Norman Silber on Foreign Interference in National Elections Published in Northwestern University L…
    about 1 day ago
  • Watch Prof. @jamesjsample discuss the latest regarding the impeachment inquiry with @PIXScott on @PIX11News:…
    about 2 days ago