Top Stories

Hofstra Law Celebrates Student Achievements at 2013 Graduation Awards Ceremony

Dean Eric Lane addresses Hofstra Law’s 2013 graduation award recipients and ceremony attendees on Monday, May 20, 2013.

The Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University held its annual Graduates’ Celebration and Awards Ceremony on Monday, May 20, 2013. Administrators, faculty members, friends and families joined Hofstra Law graduates at the John Cranford Adams Playhouse at Hofstra University to honor their outstanding achievements as law school students.

Teacher of the Year Juli Campagna, associate professor of legal writing and assistant faculty director of international programs, delivered remarks encouraging graduates to “be prepared, be professional and always be passionate.” Campagna was chosen as Teacher of the Year by the graduation class.

Later that evening, U.S. District Judge Nicholas G. Garaufis delivered the commencement address to more than 300 J.D. and LL.M. degree recipients at the David S. Mack Sports and Exhibition Complex at Hofstra University. His remarks focused on the different professional paths graduates can take after law school and how the skills they have learned prepare them for whichever profession they choose.

The following select 2013 graduation awards were presented at the Graduates’ Celebration and Awards ceremony:

Maurice A. Deane Award — Jonathan Nasca

Outstanding Law Student Award — Jenelle DeVits

Distinguished Service to the School Award — Judith Massis-Sanchez

Gina Maria Escarce Memorial Award — Ian Bel, David Gerardi and Ana Getiashvili

The William Eric Goldberg Scholarship — Elanie Cintron and Stephen Piraino

Third-Year Scholastic Achievement Award — Samuel Scroggins and Cynthia Thomas

Pro Bono Service Award of Excellence — Caitlin Steinke

Pro Bono Leadership Award — Kamran Yaghoubzadeh and Rosalyn Naval

Deborah Sloyer Memorial Scholarship in Trial Advocacy — Adam Kahn

Herman Hillman Memorial Scholarship — Ilirian Durri

Hofstra Law Review Alumni Writing Award — Ana Getiashivili

Leon Stern Award of the Criminal Courts Bar of Nassau County — Michele Wieber

Marvin Gutter Award in Tax Law — John Hauser

The Benjamin Weintraub and Alan Resnick Bankruptcy Law Award — David Gerardi and Stephen Piraino

The Judge Edward Hart Memorial Scholarship for Excellence in Trial Advocacy — Philip Nash and George Michel

The Stephanie E. Kupferman Juvenile Justice Endowed Scholarship — Camile Tucker and Courtney Rodriguez

View the full list of awardees.

About the author

Law News

To submit a news story, or request an interview with one of Hofstra Law's faculty experts, please contact Andrew Berman, assistant dean for communications, at