Students Top Stories

Hofstra Law Celebrates Student Achievements at 2014 Graduation Awards Ceremony

The Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University held its annual Graduates Celebration and Awards Ceremony on Monday, May 19, 2014. Administrators, faculty members, friends and families joined Hofstra Law graduates at the John Cranford Adams Playhouse at Hofstra University to honor their outstanding achievements as law school students.

Teacher of the Year James Sample, associate professor of law, delivered remarks encouraging students to use their law degree as an opportunity to “both personally and professionally empower those who feel, at least comparatively, powerless” and to “strive for the kind of success that comes from lifting others up, as opposed to striking them down.”

Later that evening, Hofstra Law alumna Judith A. Livingston ’79, senior partner at Kramer, Dillof, Livingston & Moore, delivered the commencement address to more than 300 J.D. and LL.M. degree recipients at the David S. Mack Sports and Exhibition Complex at Hofstra University. Livingston discussed her pride in “trying cases and fighting for those who can’t fight themselves” and in “being the voice for those who have no voice.” She said her wish for the graduates is that they will take similar pride in both their work and Hofstra Law degree throughout their careers.

The following select 2014 graduation awards were presented at the Graduates Celebration and Awards ceremony:

Maurice A. Deane Award — William Thomas Hughes

Outstanding Law Student Award — Laura Robbins

Distinguished Service to the School Award — Brittany Johnson, Rebecca Ruscito and Lauren Wylie

Gina Maria Escarce Memorial Award — Peter Barbieri and Alissa Piccione

The William Eric Goldberg Scholarship — Damian Racanelli

Third-Year Scholastic Achievement Award — Rachel Katz and Megan Law

Pro Bono Service Award of Excellence — Mikila Thompson

Pro Bono Leadership Award — Sarah Coleman and Robert Martin

Deborah Sloyer Memorial Scholarship in Trial Advocacy — Brendan Friedman

Herman Hillman Memorial Scholarship — Ralph Dweck

Hofstra Law Review Alumni Writing Award — Tyler Evans

Leon Stern Award of the Criminal Courts Bar Association of Nassau County — Lenore Furlong

Marvin Gutter Award in Tax Law — Michael Murtha

The Benjamin Weintraub and Alan Resnick Bankruptcy Law Award — John-Ethan Gionis

The Judge Edward Hart Memorial Scholarship for Excellence in Trial Advocacy — Kaitlyn Flynn and Jana McNulty

The Stephanie E. Kupferman Juvenile Justice Endowed Scholarship — Mikila Thompson

View the full list of award recipients (PDF).

About the author


To submit a news story, or to request an interview with one of Hofstra Law's faculty experts, please contact Andrew Berman, assistant dean for communications, at

Latest Tweets

  • Law students in the Robert W. Entenmann Veterans Law Clinic presenting at tonight's “Know Your Rights” training for…
    about 3 days ago
  • Thanks for being on the panel! #HofstraLaw
    about 3 days ago
  • Thank you for participating in the event! #HofstraLaw
    about 3 days ago
  • Yesterday, more than 25 law students from the Veterans Legal Assistance Project (VLAP) volunteered at our one-day V…
    about 6 days ago
  • Article by Prof. Norman Silber and Alumnus Steven Stites ’13 Published in Virginia Law & Business Review
    about 6 days ago
  • Thanks for attending!
    about 1 week ago