Students Top Stories

Hofstra Law Celebrates Student Achievements at 2015 Graduation Awards Ceremony

The Maurice A. Deane School of Law held its annual Graduates Celebration and Awards Ceremony on Monday, May 18, 2015. Administrators, faculty members, friends and families joined Hofstra Law graduates at the John Cranford Adams Playhouse at Hofstra University to honor their outstanding achievements as law school students.

Teacher of the Year Kevin McElroy, associate professor of legal writing, delivered remarks, encouraging students to “remember what you have done. Build on it. And enjoy this day.” Student Bar Association Representative Courtney Klapper shared in her remarks, “What makes me proud to be a Hofstra Law graduate is the people,” and Class Speaker David Ackerman concluded with, “Keep your eyes on the Class of 2015. I guarantee you will see something truly magical.”

The following select 2015 graduation awards were presented at the Graduates Celebration and Awards ceremony:

Maurice A. Deane AwardChelsea Plushanski

Outstanding Law Student AwardSean Simensky

Distinguished Service to the School AwardCourtney Klapper

Gina Maria Escarce Memorial ScholarshipJames Meehan and Jacqueline Smith

The William Eric Goldberg ScholarshipAllison Flood and Jaclyn Waters

Third-Year Scholastic Achievement AwardAllyson Beach, Chelsea Plushanski and Amanda Senske

Pro Bono Service Award of ExcellenceJulia Elmaleh-Sachs and Carolyn Kim

Pro Bono Leadership AwardSteven Lee

Deborah Sloyer Memorial Scholarship in Trial AdvocacyCassandra Branch

Herman Hillman Real Estate AwardChelsea Plushanski

Hofstra Law Review Alumni Writing AwardAddie Katz

Leon Stern Award of the Criminal Courts Bar Association of Nassau CountyEstefania Taranto

Marvin Gutter ’76 Graduate Award in Tax LawJeffrey Anand

Benjamin Weintraub and Alan Resnick Bankruptcy Law AwardBryan Cimala

Judge Edward Hart Memorial Scholarship for Excellence in Trial AdvocacyAndres Sanchez and Aaron Spurlock

Stephanie E. Kupferman Juvenile Justice Endowed ScholarshipRachel Summer

The Honorable David A. Paterson Graduation Award in Public Service — Ashley Guarino

View the full list of award recipients (PDF).

About the author

Law News

To submit a news story, or to request an interview with one of Hofstra Law's faculty experts, please contact Andrew Berman, assistant dean for communications, at