Top Stories

Hofstra Law to Honor Outstanding Women in Law

The second annual Outstanding Women in Law Reception will be held on Tuesday, April 25, 2017, at 6 p.m. at Carlyle on the Green in Bethpage State Park. The reception, which brings together judges, attorneys, business executives and professors, celebrates women who have made meaningful and inspiring contributions to the legal community.

New York State Lt. Gov. Kathleen C. Hochul will deliver the keynote address during the reception.

As lieutenant governor, Hochul spearheaded Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo’s “Enough is Enough” campaign to combat sexual assault on college campuses beginning in 2015, hosting and attending more than 25 events. As the highest-ranking female elected official in New York State, she continues to be a champion for women and families across the state. In March 2016, Gov. Cuomo named her to the New York State Women’s Suffrage 100th Anniversary Commemoration Commission. In 2006, Hochul joined her mother and aunt in establishing the Kathleen Mary House, a transitional home for victims of domestic violence.

The Outstanding Women in Law Reception raises funds for programs of Hofstra Law, including the Center for Children, Families and the Law. This year’s reception is supported by Gold Sponsor Bayer and Silver Sponsors Lewis Johs Avallone Aviles, LLP and Jaspan Schlesinger LLP.

Judge A. Gail Prudenti, interim dean, and Hofstra Law are proud to recognize the following 2017 Outstanding Women in Law recipients:


Hon. Joanna Seybert
Judge, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of New York

Hon. Denise F. Molia ’84
Judge, Suffolk County Supreme Court

Hon. Denise L. Sher ’78
Judge, Nassau County Supreme Court


Linda Morrone Supervising Court Attorney, Suffolk County Surrogate’s Court, and President, Suffolk County Women’s Bar Association

Linda M. Oliva Attorney, Pegalis & Erickson, LLC, and President, Nassau County Women’s Bar Association


Terese L. Arenth
Partner, Moritt Hock & Hamroff LLP

Cynthia A. Augello ’08
Partner, Cullen and Dykman LLP

Andrea M. Brodie ’09
Partner, Abrams, Fensterman, Fensterman, Eisman, Formato, Ferrara & Wolf, LLP

Britt Burner
Associate, Nancy Burner & Associates, P.C.

Professor Juli Campagna
Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University

Kathryn C. Cole
Partner, Farrell Fritz, P.C.

Professor Janet L. Dolgin
Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University

Sally M. Donahue
Partner, Jaspan Schlesinger LLP

Beth Dorfman ’84
Managing Director, Bank of America

Janet Nina Esagoff ’08
Associate, The Siegel Law Firm PC

Patria Frias-Colón ’94
Brooklyn Borough Chief, New York City Law Department

Sari M. Friedman ’80
Owner, The Law Offices of Friedman & Friedman, LLP

Patricia Galteri ’83
Member, Meyer, Suozzi, English & Klein, P.C.

Cecilia L. Gardner ’77
President, CEO and General Counsel, Jewelers Vigilance Committee

Hon. Marilyn K. Genoa ’89
Principal, Genoa & Associates, P.C.

Shirell A. Gross ’92
Vice President and Head of Law, Radiology, Bayer

Sarika Kapoor ’04
Associate Court Attorney, Nassau County Supreme Court — Law Department

Rochelle Klempner ’87
Chief Counsel, New York State Courts Access to Justice Program

Margaret D. “Mickey” Kranz ’83
Deputy General Counsel, Catholic Health Services of Long Island

Martha Krisel
Deputy County Attorney and Special Legal Counsel, Department of Social Services, Office of the Nassau County Attorney

Gariel Kutner (Nahoum) ’08
Senior Vice President and Associate General Counsel — Mutual Funds and Intermediary, Neuberger Berman

Michele R. Levin ’96
Partner, Catalano, Gallardo & Petropoulos, LLP

Caryn Lilling ’92
Principal, Mauro Lilling Naparty LLP

Kimberly B. Malerba
Partner, Ruskin Moscou Faltischek, P.C.

Maureen McCormick
Executive Assistant District Attorney, Office of the Nassau County District Attorney

Jennifer M. Mone
Deputy General Counsel, Hofstra University

Melissa Negrin-Wiener ’01
Partner, Genser Dubow Genser & Cona LLP

JoAnna Nicholson ’08
Associate, Nixon Peabody LLP

Stephanie Ortoleva ’76
President and Legal Director, Women Enabled International (WEI)

Ellen N. Savino ’88
Partner, Lewis Johs Avallone Aviles, LLP

Rachel Scelfo ’02
Of Counsel, Certilman Balin Adler & Hyman, LLP

Lois Schwaeber
Director of Legal Services, The Safe Center LI

Jessica E. Silver ’03
Deputy Inspector General for Welfare, Office of the New York State Inspector General

Debra A. Silverman
Partner/Director, Garfunkel Wild, P.C.

Judy Lynn Simoncic ’92
Partner, Forchelli, Curto, Deegan, Schwartz, Mineo & Terrana, LLP

Professor Amy R. Stein
Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University

Elyse J. Stern ’06
Partner, Stern Law Firm


Jessica M. Fildes ’14
Associate, Law Office of Perham Makabi

Nicole S. Forchelli
Associate, Forchelli, Curto, Deegan, Schwartz, Mineo & Terrana, LLP

Ana Getiashvili ’13
Attorney, Meltzer, Lippe, Goldstein & Breitstone, LLP

Diana E. Rivkin ’14
Associate, Rivkin Radler LLP

Lynda Madera Vaillant ’08
Associate, Moomjian, Waite & Coleman, LLP

More information about the reception as well as ticket/sponsorship information can be found online at