Students Top Stories

Hofstra Law Celebrates Student Achievements at 2017 Graduation Awards Ceremony

The Maurice A. Deane School of Law held its annual Graduates Celebration and Awards Ceremony on Monday, May 22, 2017. Administrators, faculty members, friends and families joined Hofstra Law graduates at the John Cranford Adams Playhouse at Hofstra University to honor their outstanding achievements as law school students.

Teacher of the Year J. Herbie DiFonzo, professor of law, delivered recorded remarks, telling the graduates, “Law is a good and noble profession. It’s a chance to spend your career doing good, settling disputes, resolving problems, making both your client and the other client believe that the system of justice is just.” Student Bar Association President Dominic Delorantis shared in his remarks, “As I took my last walk around campus, … I thought to myself … how much we’ve grown as people and professionals and how far we’ve all come together.” And Class Speaker Timothy Marsh paid tribute to his classmates: “What I remember most about my time here is my friendships. … They are respectful, inquisitive, dynamic people, storytellers, adventurers, heart-on-your-sleeve-type people, people who inspire you to do more than you thought you could ever do.”

Watch the full Graduates Celebration and Awards Ceremony on YouTube.

Watch commencement speaker Nassau County District Attorney Madeline Singas receive her receive her honorary degree and deliver the commencement address on YouTube.

The following select 2017 graduation awards were presented at the Graduates Celebration and Awards Ceremony:

Maurice A. Deane Award — Steven Mare

Outstanding Law Student Award — Steven Mare and Michael Schechner

Distinguished Service to the School Award — Fatima Guillen-Walsh

Third-Year Scholastic Achievement Award — Richard Roberts

Gina Maria Escarce Memorial Scholarship — Melanie Campbell and Samuel Plutchok

The William Eric Goldberg Endowed Memorial Scholarship — Keith Dominguez and Mishal Pahrand

The Honorable David A. Paterson Graduation Award in Public Service — Timothy Marsh

Pro Bono Service Award of Excellence — Sean Brucker

Pro Bono Leadership Award — Cameron Catrambone

Hofstra Law Review Alumni Writing Award — Ashley Flynn

Marvin Gutter ’76 Graduate Award in Tax Law — Jessica Greenvald and Danielle Waldeis

Leon Stern Criminal Courts Bar Association of Nassau County Award — Sean Brucker

Deborah Sloyer Memorial Scholarship in Trial Advocacy — Jennifer Calamia and Jesse Fishman

Ruskin Moscou Faltischek Endowed Award for Outstanding Appellate Advocacy — Jennifer Calamia

New York City Trial Lawyers Alliance Award for Excellence in Trial Advocacy — Sean Brucker and Andrew Weiss

Judge Edward Hart Memorial Scholarship for Excellence in Trial Advocacy — Sean Brucker and Andrew Weiss

Stephanie E. Kupferman Juvenile Justice Endowed Scholarship — Alexa Joyce

Benjamin Weintraub and Alan N. Resnick Bankruptcy Law Award — Ashtyn Hemendinger

Herman Hillman Real Estate Award — Danielle Waldeis

View the full list of award recipients (PDF).