Top Stories

The Appellate Division, Second Judicial Department, to Sit at the Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University

Photo of the Weitz & Luxenberg Trial Courtroom at Hofstra Law, which is updated with the latest advancements in courtroom technology

On October 16, 2017, the Appellate Division, Second Judicial Department, will hold one of its two sittings that day at the Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University.

Presiding over the sitting will be Hofstra Law alumnus Associate Justice Leonard B. Austin ’77, who also serves as an adjunct professor at the Law School. He will be joined on the bench by Associate Justices Sandra L. Sgroi ’78, also a Hofstra Law alumna, Sylvia O. Hinds-Radix, a proud parent of a Hofstra Law student, and Angela G. Iannacci, who hails from Nassau County.

“As a former Presiding Justice of the Appellate Division for the Second Judicial Department, I am absolutely delighted to host my colleagues at Hofstra Law,” said Judge A. Gail Prudenti, Hofstra Law Dean. “I am most appreciative to Presiding Justice Eng for allowing the court’s calendar to accommodate a sit at Hofstra Law’s new courtroom of the future. The opportunity to observe the Justices in person and interact with the bench once argument is concluded will be an invaluable learning experience for our students.”

The Justices will be sitting in the Law School’s newly redesigned Weitz & Luxenberg Trial Courtroom, which has been updated with the latest advancements in courtroom technology.

“It is a special thrill to bring the experience of the Appellate Division, Second Department, to the Hofstra Law community,” said Judge Austin. “As an alumnus, it is an honor to preside over the court’s calendar and then interact with the faculty and students. Thank you and kudos to Judge Prudenti and her staff for their hospitality and for providing this learning experience to the Hofstra Law community.”

Hofstra Law students will have the opportunity to watch the proceedings, which will be followed by a Q&A session with the Justices.