Students Top Stories

Hofstra Law Celebrates Student Achievements at 2018 Graduation Awards Ceremony

The Maurice A. Deane School of Law held its annual Graduates Celebration and Awards Ceremony on Monday, May 21. Administrators, faculty members, friends and families joined Hofstra Law graduates at the John Cranford Adams Playhouse at Hofstra University to honor their outstanding achievements as law school students.

Teacher of the Year James Sample, professor of law, told the graduates, “I believe in you, and I believe you have the power to change our civic discourse. … When you believe something strongly, stand, disagree, fight, advocate. Just don’t forget to listen.” Student Bar Association President Justin DiCicco reminded his classmates, “Whether it’s a client, a family member or a friend, never forget a lawyer’s goal is to advise, guide and coax someone through a difficult time with a problem.” And Class Speaker Matthew Rosen paid tribute to his classmates: “We have made each other better lawyers to be. I have met classmates who have challenged my way of thinking, and been impressed by the work ethic and persistence of those around me. My peers have pushed me to work harder than I thought I was capable of, and for that I am truly grateful.”

Watch the full Graduates Celebration and Awards Ceremony on YouTube.

Watch commencement speaker the Honorable Janet DiFiore, Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals and the State of New York, receive her honorary degree and deliver the commencement address on YouTube.

The following select 2018 graduation awards were presented at the Graduates Celebration and Awards Ceremony:

Maurice A. Deane Award — Brandon Amon

Outstanding Law Student Award — Cristen Callan

Distinguished Service to the School Award — Alexandra Faver and Seema Rambaran

Third-Year Scholastic Achievement Award — Brandon Amon, Matthew Rosen and Allison Stapleton

Gina Maria Escarce Memorial Scholarship — Ali Boshehri, Asara Greaves and Maryanne Santini

The William Eric Goldberg Endowed Memorial Scholarship — Lisa Fenech

The Honorable David A. Paterson Graduation Award in Public Service — Tamaraingsey In and Robert Pope

Pro Bono Service Award of Excellence — Estrella Cedillo and Arlette Herrera

Pro Bono Leadership Award — Melissa Scarabino and Taylor Shepherd

Dean’s Award for Excellence — Tessa Patti

Hofstra Law Review Alumni Writing Award — Hallie McDonald

Marvin Gutter ’76 Graduate Award in Tax Law — Brandon Amon

Leon Stern Criminal Courts Bar Association of Nassau County Award — Eulalia Sullivan

New York City Trial Lawyers Alliance Award for Excellence in Trial Advocacy — Elida Alfaro and Dylan Nesturrick

Ruskin Moscou Faltischek Endowed Award for Outstanding Appellate Advocacy — Robert Pope

Deborah Sloyer Memorial Scholarship in Trial Advocacy — Rachael Senatore

Judge Edward Hart Memorial Scholarship for Excellence in Trial Advocacy — Meagan Callahan, Alexis Fallon and Elizabeth Johannesen

Stephanie E. Kupferman Juvenile Justice Endowed Scholarship — Ann Caroline Figareau

Benjamin Weintraub and Alan N. Resnick Bankruptcy Law Award — Jamila Jones

Herman Hillman Real Estate Award — Savannah Holzwarth

View the full list of award recipients (PDF).