Class Notes

Class Notes | Spring 2020

Class of 2019

Giuseppe Finelli joined Winget, Spadafora & Schwartzberg, LLP in February 2020.

Class of 2018

Sean C. Acosta, Jr. joined Property Tax Reduction Consultants as executive vice president in law in October 2019.

Caitlin Hopkins joined Meltzer Lippe Goldstein & Breitstone LLP in October 2019 as an associate, after serving as a summer associate/law clerk at the firm.

Jeremy Musella joined Forchelli Deegan Terrana LLP as an associate in the firm’s Corporate and Mergers & Acquisitions and Veterinary practice groups.

James Wighaus joined Lavelle and Finn, LLP as an associate in June 2019.

Class of 2017

Sean Hanssler joined McGuire Woods LLP as an associate in the Debt Finance Department in December 2019.

Ashtyn Hemendinger joined Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP as an associate in January 2020.

Chanya Sainvilus joined Goldberg Segalla as an associate in January 2020.

Class of 2016

Caroline Gange joined Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP as an associate in August 2019.

Class of 2015

Claunick Duronville was featured in the New York Times February 3 edition, for his successful litigation of a groundbreaking, precedent-setting case in New York Housing Court.

Nicole Epstein, an associate at Gotham Government Relations and Communications, was honored in the City & State Political PR Power 50 list.

Jonathan Lindenfeld joined FeganScott, opening their New York City Office.

Class of 2013

Adam Kahn joined La Salle, La Salle & Dwyer, P.C. in October 2019.

Philip Nash joined Rivkin Radler as an associate in its Insurance Fraud Practice Group in October 2019.

Class of 2012

Ahmed Almudallah joined the U.S. Department of Justice as a trial attorney in January 2020.

Melissa Danowski was honored at Long Island Business News’ 40 Under Forty event on February 6, 2020.

Douglas Menikheim was honored at Long Island Business News’ 40 Under Forty event on February 6, 2020.

Jayasri Ganapathy was elected president of the South Asian Bar Association of New York (SABNY).

Steven T. Henesy was elevated to partner at Rivkin Radler, LLP in January 2020.

Lisha Yakub was accepted as a new member of the Producers Guild of America in the Producers Council.

Stella King joined Enea, Scanlan & Sirignano, LLP.  Her practice concentrates in elder law, wills, trusts & estates, Medicaid planning and applications, and guardianships.

Elizabeth Murphy was elevated to partner at Cullen and Dykman, serving in the firm’s banking practice group.

Class of 2011

Benjamin Doyle joined Phillips, Spallas & Angstadt, Las Vegas as an associate in November 2019.

Christopher Hampton was elevated to counsel at Meltzer, Lippe, Goldstein & Breitstone in January 2020.

Emily Iannucci was quoted in Long Island Business News’ LI Focus, January 17-23 edition, in regard to more protection for workers in New York State.

Class of 2010

Ilan Weiser was elevated to partner at Ellenoff Grossman & Schole LLP in December 2019.

Roya Vasseghi established a new business and employment firm, Vasseghi Law, PLLC.

Class of 2009

Annemarie V. Reilly was promoted to counsel at Latham & Watkins LLP, effective January 1, 2020.

Andrew Garbarino was announced as the official Republican designee to succeed Peter King to represent New York’s 2nd congressional district.

Jessica Moore celebrated her fourth year as principal of Etna Road Elementary School.

Drew Gulley joined Piper Jaffray as a senior human capital business partner in September 2019.

Kevin Paganini was promoted to counsel at Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP in January 2020.

Juan Jose Perez was promoted to vice president, finance at Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company in July 2019.

Class of 2008

Ron Ben-Bassat was promoted to partner at Sullivan & Worcester LLP.

Keren Birnbaum joined Schwartz Ettenger PLLC as a senior associate in June 2019 and was featured in “Ones to Watch: Law” in Long Island Business News in October 2019.

Melissa Manna joined Cullen and Dykman LLP as an associate in October 2019.

Michael Schimel joined Meltzer, Lippe, Goldstein & Breitstone, LLP as an associate in October 2019.

Class of 2007

Brendan M. Ahern was promoted to acting deputy division chief, Trial Division at Suffolk County District Attorney’s Office in January 2020.

Karen Baswell was promoted to senior attorney at Chaffetz Lindsey in January 2020.

Rebecca Boon was promoted to partner at Bernstein Litowitz Berger & Grossmann LLP in February 2020.

Jennifer Chung was appointed by Attorney General William Barr as an immigration judge and began hearing cases in January 2020.

Michael Katzen joined Quest Diagnostics as senior corporate counsel, employment in June 2019.

Tracie Ingrasin was elevated to partner at O’Melveny & Myers LLP in January 2020.

Thomas Margiano joined Blank Rome as an associate in their real estate group in June 2019.

April Montgomery, senior investigative counsel in the Financial Crimes Bureau, appointed to serve as the Nassau County District Attorney’s Office director of recruitment.

Class of 2006

Kyle Lawrence, partner at Sahn Ward Coschignano, PLLC was featured in New York Real Estate Journal as one of 2020 Ones to Watch.

Class of 2005

Wendy Barlow joined Cohen & Tucker as an associate in January 2020.

Class of 2003

Anthony Ciaccio Sr., partner at Schalk, Ciaccio & Kahn, P.C., was featured in “Ones to Watch: Law” in Long Island Business News in October 2019.

Craig Nazzaro was elected to Nelson Mullins’ partnership in the firm’s Atlanta office.

Renee Seman, who passed away in January 2020, was featured in The New York Times for running six of the world’s major marathons after she learned she had breast cancer.

Class of 2001

Christopher Nolan was recognized globally as Top 10 Maritime Lawyer by Lloyd’s List.

Lewis Zirogiannis joined Foley & Lardner as partner in their San Francisco office in January 2020.

Class of 1997

Melba V. Pearson filed to run as a candidate for state attorney in the 11th Judicial Circuit, covering Miami-Dade County.

Class of 1996

Patrick M. “Rick” Cox joined Nixon Peabody as partner in September 2019.

Class of 1994

Joel Katz joined Booz Allen Hamilton as vice president, chief ethics & compliance officer in January 2020.

Class of 1993

Christopher DiGiacinto, partner at Kaufman Borgeest & Ryan LLP, was named a Super Lawyer.

Class of 1992

Laura Evangelista joined Greenberg Traurig as shareholder in January 2020.

Mark Lebow was appointed by Chief Judge Rogers as an administrative trademark judge, serving on the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board.

Class of 1989

Hon. Marilyn Genoa was named president of the Nassau County Magistrates Association Inc. in January 2020.

Class of 1981

Scott Glick joined Summit Exercises and Training (SummitET) as vice president and general counsel in January 2020.

Class of 1974

Rene Fiechter, Nassau County assistant district attorney and director of community affairs, was the recipient of the Community Leadership Award of Valor presented by H.E.V.N. Fiechter also won the Ann Irvin Award presented at Domus by the Nassau County Coalition of Youth Agencies’ and was presented with the Outstanding Mentor award from MentorNY.

In Memoriam

With sorrow, Hofstra Law wishes to recognize alumni who have passed:

Erik Kapner ’75
Ronald Carman ’76
Jeff Kahn ’76
Adam Kirk ’88
Amy Lynn Vitacco ’01
Renee Seman ’03
Brett Margolin ’05

About the author

Melissa Kessler

To submit a news story, or to request an interview with one of Hofstra Law's faculty experts, please contact Andrew Berman, assistant dean for communications, at